2022 Meeting

The 2022 meeting will be held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the South Carolina Society for Philosophy. The meeting will be on March 25-26 at Converse University, and the keynote speaker will be George Yancy, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Philosophy at Emory University.


A draft of the program is here. (Draft posted March 8.)

Prize Winners

Congratulations to our prize winners!

Best Undergraduate Student Prize: Ginny Coleman, Queens University of Charlotte, “The Ethics of Non-therapeutic Infant Male Circumcision in the U.S.: An Exploration through Theory” 

Best Graduate Student Prize: Ryan Kulesa, University of Missouri, “Counterfactual Dependence is Sufficient for Divine Causation”

Best Untenured Faculty Prize: Jonathan Barker, Wake Forest University, “Explanation and Defeat”

Location of Conference Events and Parking

All sessions will be on the campus of Converse University. A campus map is here.

From the SCSP website: Visitors may park anywhere on campus (mindful of fire lanes and handicap spots), although parking in the Fairview lot is recommended for Friday while classes are still in session.


Regarding air travel, Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport (GSP) is closest (about 20 min drive). Other regional options would be Charlotte-Douglas International Airport (CLT) which is about 1.5 hours away or Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) which is about 1 hour away.


There are unfortunately no special discounts for conference attendees. However, the following accommodations are recommended, both of which are extremely close to the university: The AC Spartanburg (approx. $180/night) or Spartanburg Marriott (approx. $140/night). Or, here attendees may look for more budget options that are a bit farther away (15-20 min drive).


The registration fee is $5 for undergraduate students, $20 for graduate students (MA or PhD), $25 for part-time faculty or unaffiliated researchers, and $35 for full-time faculty.

Advance registration is available at the SCSP site.

For questions and more information, please write to the conference co-organizer, Elizabeth Hupfer, Secretary-Treasurer of the NCPS.